A Year in Review….


The Pictures of the Year (POYi) exhibit is coming back to The Annenberg Space for Photography!

The second exhibition at the Annenberg Space for Photography honors the work of winning photojournalists and visual editors from Pictures of the Year International (POYi), the oldest and most prestigious photojournalism competition in the world. After 65 years at the University of Missouri School of Journalism, POYi has moved to Los Angeles, where for the first time, the images will be on display for more than just a few days. The exhibit perfectly showcases the alignment of POYi goals and the mission of Annenberg Space for Photography to inform and inspire the public by connecting photographers, social consciousness, and the human experience through powerful imagery and stories.

The exhibited print and digital photographs tell the tale of 2008, a year rife with war and financial ruin and relieved by unprecedented political and athletic triumphs. The images were chosen from more than 45,000 entries submitted by photographers from dozens of countries. Additional POYi prizes recognize the year’s top newspaper and magazine photographers as well as exceptional long-term documentary work via the World Understanding, Global Vision, and Community Awareness awards.

The exhibition runs July 11 through November 1. But, the “Celebration” event — a rare opportunity to listen to photographers speak of their experiences — is only from July 10-11. Schedule below:

Friday, July 10 at The Annenberg Space for Photography

11:00 a.m. – Registration opens.
11:30 a.m. – Program begins with exhibition debut, speakers’ introductions and luncheon reception.
1:00 p.m. – “Visions of Excellence” digital presentation of meritorious photojournalism from the 66th annual POYi competition.
1:30 p.m. – Balazs Gardi, VII Network, Global Vision Award.
2:30 p.m. – Tim Hussin, University of Florida, College Photographer of the Year.
3:30 p.m. – Break (20 minutes).
4:00 p.m. – Seth Gitner, Josh Meltzer and Beth Macy – Roanoke Times and Roanoke.com, Documentary Project of the Year.
5:00 p.m. – Emilio Morenatti, Associated Press, Newspaper Photographer of the Year.
6:00 p.m. – First day program closes.

Saturday, July 11 at the Ray Kurtzman Theater at the Creative Artists Agency (adjacent to the Annenberg Space for Photography)

9:00 a.m. – Registration resumes.
10:00 a.m. – Jason Eskenazi, Wonderland, Best Photography Book Award.
11:00 a.m. – Jakob Carlsen, “Untouchables of Asia,” World Understanding Award.
Noon – Lunch (90 minutes).
1:30 p.m. – Presentation of Awards, 66th Annual POYi and 63rd Annual CPOY.
2:30 p.m. – Break (20 minutes).
3:00 p.m. – Sarah Leen, National Geographic, Angus McDougall Overall Excellence in Editing Award.
4:00 p.m. – Matt Eich, Community Awareness Award.
5:00 p.m. – Uriel Sinai, Getty Images, Magazine Photographer of the Year.
7:00 p.m. – Dinner reception and silent print auction (by invitation only).

Images: POYi

Related Posts with Thumbnails
If you enjoyed this post, make sure you subscribe to my RSS feed!
Categorized as GO Tagged

By buzzhype

buzz. hype. could it be simpler?